Professor of Spanish American Literature and Culture

Department of World Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics

West Virginia University

Pablo.Garcia[at]mail.wvu.edu

304-293-8323

Chitwood Hall 110

PO Box 6298

Morgantown WV 26506-6298

I am an enthusiastic teacher who encourages active participation by creating a low-anxiety environment in the classroom. I believe learning is the best part of teaching and that humility, flexibility, and self-discipline are the hallmarks of a good teacher.

My research focuses mainly on early-modern Spanish America. I continue to be particularly interested in historiography in New Spain. My recent projects have to do with the conquest of Mexico: a collection of essays that I co-edited with Héctor Costilla Martínez, Nuevos asedios a la conquista de México (Centro de Estudios Literarios Antonio Cornejo Polar, 2021), and another, titled The Conquest of Mexico: 500 years of reinventions, co-edited with Peter Villella (University of Oklahoma Press, 2022). My  work in progress relates to Lope de Aguirre's descent of the Amazon  and the notion of pre-Hispanic "encounters" among different cultures Mesoamerica.                                               

Currently, I serve as the editor of Colonia/Colônia, the quarterly newsletter of the colonial section of the Latin American Studies Association.

Maps and line drawings

As a complement to my research insterests, I make custom maps [samples] and line drawings [samples]. I am always happy to assist colleagues who need the same for a publication. Please feel free to contact me if you are interested.

Translation

I find translating from English to Spanish, and viceversa, to be a highly rewarding challenge.